John Vargas - Men's Water Polo Head Coach
john_vargas John Vargas is no stranger to success at Stanford University. In his 10 seasons as head coach of the Stanford men's water polo program, the Cardinal has reached the NCAA championship game five times, capturing the NCAA title in 2002 in his first season at the helm.

He is the fourth head coach in the history of the Stanford program, following Jim Gaughran (1969-73), Art Lambert (1974-76), and Dante Dettamanti from (1977-01).

Read more about John Vargas

John Tanner - Women's Water Polo Head Coach
VCAZYFZMPUPIVEX.20130606205527 John Tanner enters his 17th season at the helm of the Stanford women's water polo program. An experienced and enthusiastic coach, Tanner took on the developing program in 1997 and has since turned it into a nationally-ranked powerhouse that has produced three NCAA Championships (2002, 2011, 2012), four MPSF Championships, 18 U.S. Senior National Team members, and nine Olympians.

Under Tanner's watch, Stanford is the only women's water polo program in the nation to have competed at all 13 NCAA Championships since its inception in 2001, and has finished in the top-three nationally each season since he came on board. Tanner now holds a 380-59 (.866) career coaching record at Stanford.

Since 2004, Stanford women's water polo players have also earned a total of 88 selections to the ACWPC Academic List.

Read more about John Tanner

Susan Ortwein - Women's Water Polo Assistant Coach
XHEZHANPICOSVIL.20130606205109 Susan Ortwein begins her 17th year on The Farm and fourth as associate head coach for the Stanford women's water polo program. In her 16 years on The Farm, Ortwein has coached the Cardinal to a 380-59 overall record, three NCAA titles, seven NCAA runner-up finishes, and four MPSF Championship titles.

In the fall of 2010, Ortwein was named Stanford women's water polo's associate head coach after serving as assistant coach for the previous 13 years.

Ortwein has helped lead the Cardinal to the NCAA Championship Game in each of the past four seasons (2010-13), capturing NCAA titles in 2011 and 2012. During that span Stanford has accumulated a record of 109-9 (.924) and had players earn 25 All-America honors while Annika Dries (2011), Kiley Neushul (2012) and Melissa Seidemann (2013) captured each of the past three Peter J. Cutino Awards.

Read more about Susan Ortwein

Jonathan Barnea - Men's Water Polo Assistant Coach
QIJGKTFXKNKZYOO.20130606204655 Jonathan Barnea enters his ninth season as assistant coach of the Stanford men's water polo team.

In his eight years on The Farm, Barnea has been instrumental in guiding the Cardinal to a 150-56 (.728) mark during that period. He has helped in the development of 33 All-Americans, including first-team selections Thomas Hopkins (2005), Peter Varellas (2005), Sage Wright (2007, `08), Jimmie Sandman (2008, `09), Drac Wigo (2009), Alex Bowen (2011) and Bret Bonanni (2012).

During Barnea's time on The Farm, the Cardinal has advanced to the national championship game twice (2005 and 2008). In 2007 and 2008, the Cardinal finished second in the MPSF with a 6-2 conference mark while boasting the league's co-Player of the Year in goalkeeper Jimmie Sandman in 2008, and    going 7-1 in 2009.

Read more about Jonathan Barnea